Haefner receives 2014 State Advocate of the Year Award from St. Louis Children’s Hospital

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. – State Rep. Marsha Haefner was recognized for her ongoing efforts to help young people in Missouri. Haefner received the 2014 State Advocate of the Year Award from St. Louis Children’s Hospital.

Established in 1994, the award recognizes state leaders who leverage their positions, resources, and influence to do what’s right for kids. As a member of the House Budget Committee and the chair of the House Health, Mental Health, and Social Services Appropriations Committee, Haefner oversees budget items that directly impact the health and well-being of Missouri children. She also has been an appointed member to the Governor’s Task Force on the Prevention of Sexual Abuse of Children since 2012. Haefner has used her positions to advocate for the needs of children all across Missouri.

Haefner has worked on several bills to benefit children. She helped to expand newborn screenings to include Critical Congenital Heart Defects. She also was instrumental in securing funding to allow the State Health Lab to be open on weekends and holidays so that detrimental conditions can be reported to families and health care providers in a time-sensitive manner. In addition, she supported a requirement that suspected child abuse incidents must be reported immediately to the Department of Social Services, and child care facilities to be licensed in order to receive any state or federal funding.

“It has been an honor and a privilege to be able to work with St. Louis Children’s Hospital on issues that directly impact the lives of our young people. I am proud of what we have been able to accomplish together, and humbled to receive this prestigious award in recognition of the advances we have made for the betterment of Missouri children,” said Haefner, R-St. Louis County.

Haefner received the award during a ceremony at St. Louis Children’s Hospital on Tuesday, September 29. She joins State Sen. Eric Schmitt and U.S. Sen. Roy Blunt as the most recent recipients of the State Advocate of the Year Award.